Toddler Tales and More…

these are the stories of a mommy, daddy and a spunky little toddler.

For the Love of Shoes… November 10, 2011

Filed under: Family — de~mommy @ 2:41 pm
Tags:

Sure diamonds are a girls best friend, but I believe shoes rank pretty high up as well!  Most guys do not understand the importance of oh so many pairs of shoes (including my husband).  The truth of the matter is: A girl has to have shoes for all occasions and choices to boot.  Pun intended!

 

I work in the city of Wilmington’s business district, so seeing women walking around in heels is an everyday thing.  Yesterday, I was driving home and saw a woman who looked like she was in the most agonizing pain with each step she took.  Her facial expressions were classic!  Why do woman put themselves through this you ask???  My guess would be cause they look super cute!

 

I am a big fan of shoes, but am very limited these days.  My take on shoes has not changed much throughout the years.  I have styles that I stay away from completely and amongst those are anything with heels.  You would think a chica with a stature of 5’3″ tall would be in love with them, but they are not practical for me.  I prefer comfort and basically do not have enough coordination to pull off heels of any sort.

 

Lucky for me, I work in a business/casual environment.  More casual than business, thank goodness.  I am not one that is down for discomfort, especially when it comes to my feet.  My shoes of choice are flip-flops, flats, sneakers and sneaker flats.  The last one is reserved for work…this way I could rock my sneakers, but they look like casual flats so no one is the wiser.

 

In high school I worked in a shoe store that was going out of business and it truly was a blessing in disguise.  When we found out we would be closing, all the employees had 1st pick of all shoes and were able to store them in the back room until the discount was at a whopping 90% off.  WHAT?!  I know…it was truly an amazing feeling as a young woman.  EVERYONE got at least 2 pairs of shoes from me for Christmas that year.

 

Be it as it may, I have bargained with the shoe devil, a.k.a the husband, and now every time I buy a pair of shoes…I have to get rid of 2 pairs.  This is truly insanity!   While I understand his take as a guy with only a few pairs, this is heartbreaking to me.  Just because I do not wear them everyday, does not mean they will not be worn in the near future.  So to my surprise,  the other day he ordered me a new pair of sneakers (which are SUPER CUTE)….so do I still have to get rid of 2 pairs?

 

If you are looking for super cute shoes, you have to check out http://myshoeconnection.com/     My Shoe Connection is offering FREE standard shipping to anywhere in the continental U.S.A excluding Alaska & Hawaii!!  How can you pass that up?

 

Leave a comment