Toddler Tales and More…

these are the stories of a mommy, daddy and a spunky little toddler.

If it Ain’t Broke, Don’t Fix it! November 2, 2011

Filed under: Family — de~mommy @ 12:50 pm

Breaking out the Scranton in me for that title!  This is also my mantra I live by.  I am a simple kind of girl and it doesn’t take much to make me happy.  Sure…there are things I enjoy spending money on, but I do it with flare and for special occasions and I budget everything out. 

 

 I recently watched one of my favorite interior designers, Genevieve Gorder, redo a bachelor pad and the man was clueless as to where to start when designing his new place.  She explained to him that having things to start conversations is important in your home (especially when you are a bachelor on the prowl).  Old pictures, random objects, things you personally like and things you would like to do.

 

My home is full of conversation starters!  Every time we have guests over, they check out all our family photos and ask questions about the things that are strategically placed around my home.  The object that gets the most attention is my TV.  She is a voluptuous 36” RCA box TV that is knocking on 11 years old.  I don’t think there is anyone who can pass up commenting on it, haha.  She works and serves her purpose!  No need to replace something that works like a charm. 

 

Another fun topic is usually my cell phone.  I have a bottom of the line, touch screen Samsung that was free with a 2 year contract.  I am able to make/receive calls, take/receive pictures, and I can text and receive text messages.  My husband and I both prefer this basic phone.  The way I am with my klutziness, it is better off this way.  I have had my phone for 6 months and she is chipped up and has approximately 8 cracks in the screen.  I can still read everything, so it hasn’t affected her purpose. 

 

To add to the list of antiques…I have a 12 year old Krupp’s Coffee/Espresso machine.  She makes the most glorious coffee this side of Newark.  Friends often request a cup from the old gal and say it’s the best.  Sure a Keurig would be nice, but then you have to worry about having an abundance of K-cups on hand.  Nope…if it ain’t broke don’t fix it!

 

Oh and I also have a landline!  We tried doing without it, but I live in a dead zone for cell service.  Both of our cell phones drop calls constantly when we are home.  So a landline is necessary if we want to keep in touch with family.  Which we do cause they are pretty awesome!

 

There are so many other things I can go on and on about, but the truth is we do not find a need for all the top of the line, fancy smancy technology that is out now.  I’m not knocking those who have it, but for us…simplicity works.  We have what we need and are proud of what we have. It’s paid for and we earned it!  The one thing I know that we will need and can’t live without will be a new laptop.  This too is knocking on 7 years old.  Lol.

 

Our home is beautiful and I am proud cause it is ours.  When it comes to life, you do not need the latest in trends and expensive technology to survive.  Love and pride is all it takes to make a happy home!  And we have an abundance of that, so I think we are in great shape. 

 

2 Responses to “If it Ain’t Broke, Don’t Fix it!”

  1. Melinda Says:

    Im guessung Rob kinda inspired this post after busting on ur landline and cell on halloween lol. Hes the “replace it if there is something better out there kinda guy” 🙂

    • de~mommy Says:

      Lol…he’s one of my inspirations. Funny thing is 2 other people busted me about my vintage belongings the same week. : )


Leave a comment